Canet beats Fernandez to Friday Moto2™ honours

0 8

An all-Spanish high three after Day 1 at Aragon

Aron Canet (Flexbox HP40) has turned the tables on Moto2™ World Championship chief Augusto Fernandez (Crimson Bull KTM Ajo) to say Friday honours on the Gran Premio Animoca Manufacturers de Aragon. Canet set the tempo in FP2 on a 1:52.852, precisely a tenth of a second quicker than Fernandez for the session in a swap of the highest two relative to FP1. Alonso Lopez (CAG Velocity Up), who scored a breakthrough victory slightly below a fortnight in the past at Misano, was third-quickest in each classes.

On a day when he can be confirmed as a future MotoGP™ rider, at GASGAS Manufacturing unit Racing, Fernandez had been quickest in Moto2™ FP1 on a 1:52.925 whereas Canet was second-fastest in that session on a 1:53.057. Simply previous to the midway mark of FP2, they have been break up when it comes to mixed occasions when Lopez punched out a 1:53.011.

Nonetheless, with lower than 4 minutes to go, Canet crept up two positions when he clocked a 1:52.852 and that was how the highest three would keep. Fernandez couldn’t be accused of a scarcity of consistency, although, given his quickest lap time of FP2 at 1:52.952 was simply 0.027 seconds slower than his FP1 benchmark. Price noting additionally was that Canet won’t have had an opportunity to usurp his countryman had he crashed early within the session at Flip 14, however the Pons Racing rider pulled off save.

How the remaining completed the day

Jake Dixon (Shimoku GASGAS Aspar Crew) picked up fourth with a 1:53.128 and Tony Arbolino (Elf Marc VDS Racing Crew) took fifth on a 1:53.154. Rounding out the highest 10 have been Pedro Acosta (Crimson Bull KTM Ajo), Albert Arenas (Shimoku GASGAS Aspar Crew), Fermin Aldeguer (CAG Velocity Up), Joe Roberts (Italtrans Racing Crew), and Somkiat Chantra (Idemitsu Honda Crew Asia).

See also  WRC Sweden: Toyota's Rovanpera clinches snug victory

Ai Ogura (Idemitsu Honda Crew Asia), who’s simply 4 factors off the World Championship lead, ended the day in twelfth, whereas neither of the Mooney VR46 Racing Crew riders are in Q2 because it stands. Celestino Vietti sits seventeenth and Niccolo Antonelli in twenty seventh, each having crashed in FP2, in separate incidents. Additionally having spills in FP2 have been Marcos Ramirez (MV Agusta Ahead Racing), Zonta van den Goorbergh (RW RAcing GP), and Cameron Beabuier (American Racing), who sit eleventh, 14th, and fifteenth respectively at this cut-off date. 

All of that mentioned, windy circumstances in FP2 imply various groups and riders could have been engaged on race tempo reasonably than out-and-out time assaults. Which means issues are going to warmth up much more in FP3, and you may catch that session on Saturday from 10:55 (GMT +1)!

Moto2™ Prime 10 on Friday:
1. Aron Canet (Flexbox HP40) – 1:52.852
2. Augusto Fernandez (Crimson Bull KTM Ajo) + 0.073
3. Alonso Lopez (CAG Velocity Up) + 0.159
4. Jake Dixon (Shimoku GASGAS Aspar Crew) + 0.276
5. Tony Arbolino (Elf Marc VDS Racing Crew) + 0.302
6. Pedro Acosta (Crimson Bull KTM Ajo) + 0.373
7. Albert Arenas (Shimoku GASGAS Aspar Crew) + 0.463
8. Fermin Aldeguer (CAG Velocity Up) + 0.547
9. Joe Roberts (Italtrans Racing Crew) + 0.723
10. Somkiat Chantra (Idemitsu Honda Crew Asia) + 0.747

VideoPass lets you watch each single second of each single sector LIVE and OnDemand
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.